But I’m Not a Housewife!

Domestic Bliss, Eventually

Victorian Aesthetic Appreciation

So, I was blog-hopping the yesterday and I discovered this really pretty blog via Blue Castle’s blogroll.

It reminded me of a magazine that I used to love when I was somewhere between 13 and 15 years old. I bet you are having no trouble guessing what that magazine was?  

Anyway, My Romantic Home is just as beautiful as the old Victoria Magazine that I would read over and over, inhaling it’s soft, sweet fragrance and dreaming of being a grown-up with a house filled with beautiful frilly things.

An odd thing for me to do really, since I was never a girlie-girl, I hated pink, and I never did girlie things such as imagining my future wedding. And just as I do with everything, I obsessed over the few issues that my mother bought, either for my birthday, or because I begged her to, and then I forgot about the magazine for awhile. I remembered it again in college and searched for it, but couldn’t find it. I had since learned that it was discontinued, but only just recently realized that it’s been resurrected.

In my Internet search to uncover the mystery of Victoria Magazine, I discovered this post on another new favorite blog of mine Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea. (The post is dated May 09, 2007, just 4 days after my wedding!) The author’s description of why she loves the magazine perfectly explains my fascination with it as a budding woman:

If you haven’t experienced this magazine, put it on your list.  It was sumptuous! It had the most beautiful photos of antiques, roses, beautiful gardens, silver and china and linens, homes, anything to do with romantic and gracious living.  The articles and features were good, of course, but I have to admit I was addicted to the eye-candy that could be found on almost every page.  I just hope this new Victoria lives up to the standards of the old one.

It was, as is the the blog mentioned above, first rate eye candy .

Furthermore, I’m by far not the only fan of this magazine as you can see by the amount of comments in response to her post.  I do wish that my old copies weren’t lost in the chaos of my childhood home (and the covers I chose to display in this post were chosen because I recognized most of them from that time period) but I suppose I my sadness can be assuaged by the knowledge that I could purchase them at any time from EBay, if I felt I needed them badly enough.

And to the author of Blue Castle, I’ll be posting a recipe of my creamy potato, pea, and fennel casserole soon so you can see how easy it is to make the onion cream sauce.

5 Comments»

  paranoidasteroid wrote @

This was my mom’s favorite magazine! And yes, the pictures were just goegeous, though I’ve never been a girlie girl either.

  Blue Castle wrote @

Oh you just took me back about 15 years! My mom used to have a subscription to Victoria and she would let me have each magazine when she was done reading it. The pictures were so wonderfully lovely. And the clothing – I loved it all. I used to try and copy the magazine’s decorating style in my little bedroom.

I will definitely be checking back for that recipe, by the way. 🙂

  Razor Family Farms wrote @

I really love your blog! It’s beautiful!

Blessings!
Lacy

  Cindy wrote @

Oh my gosh, you made my day! You compared my blog to Victoria magazine….I can’t even begin to tell you how wonderful it felt to read this! Thank you! I would have probably never known that you wrote this but I went to Technorati.com tonight and typed in my blog url and it tells you who links to your blog and I saw this post. I have a huge smile on my face because of your kind words! I love Victoria magazine too, it’s been back about a year now. I just got the November/December issue today and I was reading just before I got online. Anyway…I just wanted to say thank you!!!!

  Jessielme wrote @

You’re very welcome, Cindy. And thank you so much, Razor Family Farms, and all of you for your comments. Your comments have made my day! The last two, combined with the election results, have made me so giddy I can hardly prepare for the class I’m teaching at 2:00 today! I’m looking forward to spending the weekend cleaning, baking, and blogging. And to Blue Castle, my next post will contain recipes! I may be slow but I haven’t forgotten. Cheers!
= )


Leave a Reply

