But I’m Not a Housewife!

Domestic Bliss, Eventually

It’s the Small Things: Voting for Change

backyard

In the spirit of change I’ve posted pictures of the view out of the french doors of my home office, about a week and a half ago (above), and today. Autumn has finally moved in and changed the appearance of my communal backyard despite the spate of really warm days we’ve had recently (in the 70s!).

backyard2day

Now, I did vote today and so it seemed like a good day to join a new network of bloggers organized by this lovely lady at the blog Home Sanctuary. Each weekday, Rachel posts one simple activity that she will do along with all the Company Girls to help make her home a sanctuary for her family.  Her post for today is about Change! I find her recommendations for today hilarious for so many personal reasons. I recommend you click on the link and read her post, but I’ll quote a bit of it here so you can see what I’m up to today.

Today’s Small Thing is to make some small changes in your own precinct.  “Change,” in this instance meaning, “to replace the old with the new.”

You can elect to:

  • Change the sheets on a bed
  • Change the towels
  • Change the batteries in your smoke alarm
  • Change a light bulb
  • Change the oil in your car
  • Change your tablecloth
  • Change your undies, or simply turn them inside out.  Good to go.
  • For starters, I’m literally on my last pair of underwear today. And you know all about that smoke alarm of mine. Finally, I can’t just go changing the sheets because we only have one pair for our bed! (Too bad we didn’t get sheets for a wedding gift instead of the three coffee makers we got – and if one of those coffee makers was from you, please don’t feel bad, we are very thankful – it was bad management of the registries on our part.)

    So, I figure I can do the following in my first attempt at doing small things for my home sanctuary:

    • Get that battery into the smoke alarm. It turns out that the battery in the kitchen smoke alarm also decided to konk out a couple of days ago and I was forced to buy batteries because it was going off all day. The first time it went off, I ran downstairs in my bathrobe, wet from the shower, wondering if I’d have to be rescued from a fire without underwear on. We changed that battery (but we haven’t gotten it back up on that 12 foot ceiling yet). The other battery is in my basket for keys and other odds and ends, and soon it will be in that basement smoke alarm!
    • Change my sheets and my underwear. I figured all that underwear that needed washing fit pretty well with a load of sheets, and all I have to do now is put them in the dryer.
    • Change the towels. I already exchanged most of the towels in the house for clean ones. Some of them don’t really have replacements, so it’ll have to wait till the next load of laundry.

    And, since I’m not feeling very creative. I guess that’s it for my first day. 30 points! ( I’m really not that competetive.) All in all, it doesn’t seem like much, but we’ll be sleeping on clean sheets, and I won’t have to turn my underwear inside out tomorrow – And that’s something.

    To close, a recent pic of my beloved snoozing pooper, and now we’re off to a friend’s to watch the election results.

    snooze

    3 Comments»

      Razor Family Farms wrote @

    What a great post!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

      Jessielme wrote @

    Thank you Lacy,
    That means so much coming from someone with such an amazing website. Really, I’m amazed whenever I check it out. I just read your piece in Small Town Livingit was really funny. And I was blown away when I saw your picture of “Christina’s World” with the laptop! I wanted to comment on your blog, but there wasn’t a spot to comment on the front page.
    Anyway, did you do that yourself?
    I absolutely love that painting. I grew up with it in my bedroom when I lived with my godfather and it’s on my living room wall now that he’s gone.
    Thanks for stopping by!

    […] I never did change that smoke alarm battery!! (So put me down for 20 points, thank […]


    Leave a Reply

