But I’m Not a Housewife!

Domestic Bliss, Eventually

A ‘Lil Sugar for Your Coffee This Morning: A Post in Two Parts

Part One

Having studied Linguistics, I’m not often offended by any single word. Words simply exist. And yet, context and history often do combine to load words with unpleasant connotations. Take the word housewife. I have put it in the title of my blog and still, I cringe when I hear it. Perhaps I feel I can claim this word  because I also work part-time in and out of the home and feel that I use it ironically in this new millennium.  I’m not yet a SAHM (stay-at-home-mom), I’m not a very good homemaker, and somehow, SAHW (stay-at-home-wife) bothers me most of all. I think there will always be debates over these words.

For commentary on the use of housewife vs. SAHM vs. homemaker, check out lilsugar.com – Tell Mommy: Does the Term “Housewife” Offend You?

Part Two

Image via themediansib.com

Image via The Median Sib

In my last post, I wrote the first of many posts on marriage. For a fun article on “Marrying One’s Self” check out Sexy in Van City, a blog by several 30-something gals living in Vancouver, BC. Enjoy yesterday’s post by Kittyn:  A la French Maid! 1950s House Wife Cleans The Home… the sexy way, in which she describes her transition from dating herself in 2008, to marrying herself in 2009. Gone will be the cluttered home, piles of clothes, rotting leftovers, (sinks full of dishes, if she’s anything like me) as she uses healthy, homemade cleaning products (baking soda, vinegar, and lavender oil) and gets dressed up in a fun, feminine costume, turning on the tunes and considering it a workout. 

I enjoyed Kittyn’s post immensely and it has provoked a lot of self-reflection. I find it a wise revelation in many ways. First, one must value herself before she can expect to be valued by a man (or partner). And second, it echos the sentiment of of homemaking in general. When we “nest,” or “home-make,” or “play house,” we are creating a pleasant environment for our loved ones (spouse, children, family) and for our selves to live happily and stress free in a hectic world.

3 Comments»

  kitty wrote @

Thank you so much for the feedback! I am enjoying my “marriage” to me – so far! I just returned copies of library books on how to declutter my life – that are several years over due! It took me a few years to put into practice what I have wanted but perhaps with this much research and planning this process of marrying me might go a little smoother!

  Jessielme wrote @

LOL. Hey, all that mental preparation should be a big help! Some ideas just need to incubate for a few years, I think.

I look forward to reading more about your happy “marriage.” You deserve the best!

  Robyn wrote @

I don’t think the term housewife necessarily implies playing bridge or popping bonbons on the couch as suggested on lilsugar.com. I think it implies the husband has ownership over the wife. He mainly keeps her in the house so she can cook and clean for him, but sometimes sends her on errands.


Leave a Reply

