But I’m Not a Housewife!

Domestic Bliss, Eventually

The White House Project and Barbie Doll

I don’t know as much about politics as I should, but thanks to a continuing education pamphlet I received in the mail recently, I’ve discovered a new website designed to increase the knowledge and leadership of women in politics.

the-white-house-project-red-stamp

The White House Project has got some cool stuff for young girls, including a Ms. President Barbie. Below is an article about the woman who is responsible for creating the Ms. President Barbie. The doll was produced in 2000, 2004, and 2008 and expressed racial diversity with Caucasian, Hispanic, Asian, and African American versions. 

barbiearticle

41157455

2000: President Barbie was available as a Caucasian, African American and Hispanic doll. (© Mattel, Inc.), Image via amny.com

Anyway, in an era when young girls are exposed to so many raunchy and sexualized female role models through the all-pervasive media, and the clothing for six year olds and some dolls looks like a street walker fare, it’s nice to see these steps being taken. It sure beats Bratz, a product I have never understood.  I think I would have liked to have grown up with a President Barbie. 

When I was growing up, we had Day to Night Barbie. She worked from 9 to 5 and got dressed up to go out with Ken promptly at 5, with her sparkly pink camisole and reversible skirt. I urge you to click on the picture below and follow the link to the commercial, it will bring back some memories.

daytonightbarbie1

The White House Project has also partnered with Girl Scouts of the USA to create a Ms. President Girl Scout Patch, which is cool, but I was a member of Campfire USA, which was supposed to be co-ed. Do they get a patch too? 

mspresident_patch



3 Comments»

  Jessielme wrote @

I’m commenting on my own post because I can’t believe none of you all are clicking on the link to watch the Day to Night Barbie commercial! What’s wrong with y’all? Don’t you have a fire of fond memories of the eighties that you want to fan into a modest blaze again?

  Robyn wrote @

I don’t remember day to night barbie. I remember rollerskate barbie (or maybe it was rollerblade barbie, not sure) and that’s about it. Her skates made sparks when you rolled them.
Go ahead and hate me now, but I would prefer a Mrs. President Barbie who has children.
I was in campfire for a bit too. I didn’t realize it was supposed to be co-ed.

  Jessielme wrote @

Dude, I would prefer a Mrs. President Barbie who has children too. That’s a good point that I kind of over looked.


Leave a Reply

