But I’m Not a Housewife!

Domestic Bliss, Eventually

Please Allow Me to Improvise

Well pat me on the back and call me a Rockstar, I made a kick-ass breakfast this morning:

Wheat Berry Breakfast

My husband has been raving about the merits of wheat berries in the morning and lamenting the fact that I haven’t eaten any of the large Tupperware-full of cooked wheat berries in the fridge. Every morning he has been filling up a large coffee mug full of wheat berries with milk and honey, or with Kefir, and the addition of  raisins and walnuts as the mood strikes, to eat in the car on the way to work. The first time he made them, he made way  too many (which I think everybody does the first time because they swell up so much) and they weren’t cooked quite enough. And because they weren’t cooked enough, they had too strong of a wheat flavor for me. They were chokingly strong – made my throat clench up!

But, he did a second batch and I’ve been meaning for days to make a Waldorf salad with them – like we used to buy prepared at the New Pioneer Co-op in Iowa City. I was already well into the production of the salad, having chopped an apple, a pear, and a stalk of celery, when I realized that all the raisins and walnuts were gone. Bummed, I Googled some Waldorf salad recipes anyway, to see what to mix with mayonaise for the dressing. Hmm, it seemed I would need either lemon juice or apple cider vinegar, neither of which I had. 

This is when I remembered the fancy, fig vinegar I had bought at a gourmet food store once for Tim’s birthday (with a bunch of other stuff, because he loves to cook and try new things, but which he has never used). 

Fig Vinegar

One whiff of it and knew that it would have enough sweetness and interesting flavor to make up for the lack of raisins. I whisked some with mayo, in a cup with a fork, tasted it, and was sold.

Mixing the Dressing

Dressing

It may need improvement, but it’s a pretty darn good salad and I’m proud of myself for not giving up in the kitchen. It’s been awhile since I’ve made anything other than fried egg sandwiches and instant oatmeal for breakfast, or any other meal for that matter! I’m so proud of myself, in fact, that I’ve made a new category for my posts: Courage in the Kitchen.

Below is a taste of what’s to come tomorrow: I’m finally gonna post my review of Happy Housewives.

Bon Appetit!

Bon Appetit!

3 Comments»

[…] you know, Tim has been eating wheat berries for breakfast for a while now, and thought we’d try this simple dish from this New York […]

[…] used a splash of white wine vinegar, and some of that fig flavored basalmic vinegar that I used for my Wheat Berry Waldorf Salad the other day. I just kept adding olive oil and the two vinegars until it tasted right and their […]

[…] you know, Tim has been eating wheat berries for breakfast for a while now, and we thought we’d try this simple dish from this New York […]


Leave a Reply

