But I’m Not a Housewife!

Domestic Bliss, Eventually

The Real Rules For Girls

The Real Rules For Girls

I may have mentioned before that I worry about teenage girls these days, what with half naked women on every billboard, the Pussycat Dolls being marketed to elementary school kids, and Girls Gone Wild commercials every other second on a popular cable channel – one that bleeps out bad words but advertises that young college girls should be naked and gyrating all over each other on camera if they wanna be normal (that would be Comedy Central, in case you weren’t sure). Ugh, I could go on, and on, but what would be the point? The bottom line is it was hard enough when I had to go through it; I can’t even imagine what it’s like to grow up a girl today.

So, to be honest, I obsess about what all this media does to the minds of young girls, to the point that I read stacks of YA (Young Adult) novels with a secret hope that there will be something in them to assuage my concern, some kind of magic advice that will get them through puberty and young adulthood with their inner-selves unscathed.

That in mind, I picked up this book at my local library and enjoyed it cover to cover one evening. It ain’t perfect, but it’s got a lot of good advice in it about overcoming shyness and being in control. My favorite parts are the ones that insist that you won’t want to know, much less, date the popular football star when you’re an adult, and that your first boyfriend is really just for practice. 

Your first boyfriend should be like the first pancake, just a tester to see if the griddle is hot enough.

One more pearl:

Don’t whine. Whining’s for those who can’t ask for what they want.

I wish I had learned to ask for what I want at an earlier age – in all areas of life.

P.S. I didn’t even know that Courteney Cox Arquette wrote the foreward to this book, as my copy came from the library and that is where the library puts it’s branch sticker.

2 Comments»

  Robyn wrote @

One the male side, “bigger penis” ads are everywhere! They even have them on the Cartoon Network webiste. I realize there is a lot of adult content on Cartoon Network, especially late at night, but it is also the home of Ben 10 and other children’s programs, and my children should be able to go to their website and play games. I sent them an email about these advertisements, and they chose not to respond.

  Jessielme wrote @

Wow. I didn’t even think of that, not being a mom myself yet. What is wrong with people?


Leave a Reply

